Matt Champion & The Marias - Masthead Banner

The Kills announce new album 'Ash & Ice' + watch the 'Doing It To Death' video.

The Kills announce new album 'Ash & Ice' + watch the 'Doing It To Death' video.

The Kills (made up of Alison Mosshart and Jamie Hince) have just announced that they will be releasing a new album (their fifth album!) entitled 'Ash & Ice' on June 3rd.

They've also just released a music video for the first we've heard of the new album, in the form of 'Doing It To Death'.

Full album info:

Over their almost decade-and-a-half career, The Kills have released four records. Each one a restless, reckless enigmatic art statement that bristled with tension, anxiety, sex, unstudied cool and winking ennui, yet not one of them sounded like the previous one. Ash & Ice is the follow up to 2011's critically lauded Blood Pressures and was five years in the making, in part due to Jamie Hince's five hand surgeries, which resulted in him having to re-learn how to play guitar with a permanently damaged finger.
Unlike earlier albums, which have largely been written and recorded at Key Club Studio in Benton Harbor, Michigan, the bulk of the recording for Ash & Ice took place in a rented house in LA and at the world famous Electric Lady Studios in NYC. The album was produced by Jamie Hince and co-produced by John O'Mahony (Metric, The Cribs), and mixed by Tom Elmhirst (Adele, Arcade Fire, Amy Winehouse) and Tchad Blake (Black Keys, Arctic Monkeys).
It was during Hince's recuperation from surgery that he first started sketching out what would become the songs for the album. To shake up the writing process, Hince booked a solo trip on the infamous Trans-Siberian Express for inspiration while Alison Mosshart, now residing in Nashville, TN, wrote some of the most affecting, poetically candid lyrics that she ever has, painting word pictures that mine the dangerous terrain between romantic obsession, prophecy and tough love. Where previous albums had an air of detachment and emotional austerity, underpinned by an uneasy self-awareness and unexpressed anger, the 13 songs on Ash & Ice are more understated, less tempestuous and more affecting because of that, exposing the kind of push-pull you feel when you find yourself in a complicated but all-consuming relationship.
Ash & Ice is The Kills at their emotionally charged, arresting best. Prepare to be slayed.

The track listing for the album is as follows:

Doing It To Death
Heart Of A Dog
Hard Habit To Break
Bitter Fruit
Days Of Why And How
Let It Drop
Hum For Your Buzz
Siberian Nights
That Love
Impossible Tracks
Black Tar
Echo Home
Whirling Eye

Watch the 'Doing It To Death' music video below…

Load next


Open in new window
Open in new window